Revelation 21-22

Revelation 21 and 21 presents to us what God’s plan is for the future.

In these two chapters, we see descriptions of the New Heaven and New Earth. We can understand these two chapters through two categories:


What’s not there: everything that is related to evil

  • Sea
    • Chaos that threatens creation
  • Characters that are inconsistent with God
    • Faithless, detestable, murderers, sexually immoral...
  • No closed gates
    • No closed borders, no discrimination
  • No curse
    • No conflict between man and woman, no curse on the soil and earth
  • No tears, death, mourning, crying, pain


What is there

  • Peoples
    • In the Greek language, “people” is plural, meaning people from every nation, ethnicity
  • Culture, civilization, creativity
    • With people, there are things to do
      • Reign with God
      • Art, creative acts
      • Worship
  • Creation and physical “things”
    • Gates, city, river, trees, fruits
    • Heaven is not just clouds with angels singing; there are a lot of activities
  • God
    • Best of all, God is there
    • We will see his face


When is this going to happen? Jesus says, “I am coming soon.”

  • He is already in the act of coming, without delay
  • He is the “bright morning star”, meaning the night is over, and the dawn is coming
  • The kingdom of God is already on its way
  • In light of this and the whole book of Revelation, we ought to:
    • Come out of the darkness
    • Walk in the light
    • Bring the light into the darkness



See a Victory
Words and Music by Ben Fielding, Chris Brown, Jason Ingram, Steven Furtick

O Praise The Name (Anástasis)
Words & music by Benjamin Hastings, Dean Ussher, Marty Sampson

Even So Come
Words and Music by Chris Tomlin, Jess Cates, Jason Ingram